The Hawkeye Chapter area includes nine counties in eastern Iowa: Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Linn, Muscatine, and Washington. If you are a current member of the ACLU who resides in one of these nine counties, you are automatically a member of this chapter. It is the only local chapter in the state.

About the Hawkeye Chapter of the ACLU of Iowa 

The purpose of the Hawkeye Chapter is to defend and maintain civil liberties that are central to the mission of the American Civil Liberties Union. These include freedom of speech, LGBTQ rights, personal privacy and security, student rights, access to governmental business, reproductive freedom, religious freedom and separation of church and state, rights of immigrants, women’s rights, rights of prisoners and the accused, and voting rights among others.

Examples of our efforts on a local level include facilitating the proposal of measures for consideration at local elections and ensuring that government buildings maintain religious neutrality.

The Board of Directors of the Hawkeye Chapter consists of 10 members who are elected for staggered four-year terms. Its meetings consider issues currently affecting civil liberties in our communities. Board meetings are held on Sundays in alternate months, most often in Iowa City. Meetings are open to all current ACLU members.

Hawkeye Chapter Board of Directors

President: Martha Hampel
Vice President: Aleksey Gurtovoy
Secretary: Francoise Gourronc
Treasurer: Dean Abel
Representative to the State Board: Aleksey Gurtovoy 
Caroline Dieterle
Meredith Hamlyn
Jen Lee
Latisha McDaniel
Harry Olmstead
Kelcey Patrick-Ferree

To contact the Hawkeye Chapter's Board of Directors, email